Phone and internet plans you can sign up for in Japan

For people from abroad living in Japan. We compare the sign-up conditions first, then the price.

Find plans that match your situation

Residence cardIs it your only ID?
Foreign cardPaying with a card from abroad?
EnglishNeed an English sign-up page?
Show plans

Can you sign up? We check that first

Many plans in Japan ask for a Japanese bank account, a Japanese credit card, or a sign-up in Japanese. A low price does not help if you cannot apply.

So we ask the same five questions about every plan, in the same order. The first three decide whether you can sign up at all.

Compare plans by what you can sign up for

Mobile & SIM: Mobile SIM and eSIM plans in Japan compared: English sign-up, residence card and cancellation fees

As of Oct 2026. Prices and terms are taken from each provider’s official website.

Mobile & SIM: comparison table

ProviderApply in EnglishResidence card onlyForeign-issued cardMinimum contract / cancellation feeMonthly price (tax incl.)Official site
povoCalls+Data base planSign-up Not stated · Support Not stated · Bills Not statedYesNot statedNot stated; 180-day topping rule¥0/month (tax incl.)Official site (opens in a new tab)
IIJmioVoice SIM, starting priceSign-up Not stated · Support EN · Bills Not statedYesNot statedEnds with your first month; fee not stated¥850/month (tax incl.)Official site (opens in a new tab)
LINEMOup to 3GBSign-up JP only · Support JP only · Bills Not statedNot statedNot stated¥990 (tax incl.) if you cancel within 12 months¥990/month (tax incl.) up to 3GBOfficial site (opens in a new tab)
Rakuten MobileSAIKYO Plan up to 3GBSign-up Not stated · Support JP only · Bills Not statedNot statedNot statedNot stated on the pages we checked¥1,078/month (tax incl.) up to 3GBOfficial site (opens in a new tab)
LINEMOup to 10GBSign-up JP only · Support JP only · Bills Not statedNot statedNot stated¥990 (tax incl.) if you cancel within 12 months¥2,090/month (tax incl.) up to 10GBOfficial site (opens in a new tab)
Rakuten MobileSAIKYO Plan up to 20GBSign-up Not stated · Support JP only · Bills Not statedNot statedNot statedNot stated on the pages we checked¥2,178/month (tax incl.) up to 20GBOfficial site (opens in a new tab)
ahamo30GBSign-up JP only · Support Not stated · Bills Not statedNot statedNot statedNot stated on the pages we checked¥2,970/month (tax incl.) for 30GBOfficial site (opens in a new tab)
Rakuten MobileSAIKYO Plan over 20GBSign-up Not stated · Support JP only · Bills Not statedNot statedNot statedNot stated on the pages we checked¥3,278/month (tax incl.)Official site (opens in a new tab)
Sakura MobileVoice+Data 5GBSign-up EN · Support EN · Bills Not statedNot statedNot statedMonth-to-month, no lock-in. Cancellation fee: not stated¥3,278/month (tax incl.) for 5GBOfficial site (opens in a new tab)
Y!mobileSimple 3 SSign-up Not stated · Support Not stated · Bills Not statedNot statedNot stated¥858 (tax incl.) if you cancel within 12 months¥3,278/month (tax incl.) for 5GBOfficial site (opens in a new tab)
UQ mobileTokutoku Plan 2Sign-up Not stated · Support Not stated · Bills Not statedNot statedNot stated¥1,100 (tax incl.) if you cancel within 1 year¥4,048/month (tax incl.) up to 30GBOfficial site (opens in a new tab)
auSmartphone Mini Plan+ up to 1GBSign-up JP only · Support EN · Bills Not statedNot statedNot statedUp to ¥1,100 (tax incl.) if you cancel within 1 year¥4,928/month (tax incl.) up to 1GBOfficial site (opens in a new tab)
SoftBankMini Fit 2 up to 2GBSign-up Not stated · Support Not stated · Bills Not statedNot statedNot statedNot stated on the pages we checked¥5,258/month (tax incl.) up to 2GBOfficial site (opens in a new tab)
docomoMAX up to 1GBSign-up Not stated · Support EN · Bills Not statedNot statedNot statedNot stated on the pages we checked¥5,698/month (tax incl.) up to 1GBOfficial site (opens in a new tab)
SoftBankMini Fit 2 up to 5GBSign-up Not stated · Support Not stated · Bills Not statedNot statedNot statedNot stated on the pages we checked¥6,358/month (tax incl.) up to 5GBOfficial site (opens in a new tab)
auSmartphone Mini Plan+ up to 3GBSign-up JP only · Support EN · Bills Not statedNot statedNot statedUp to ¥1,100 (tax incl.) if you cancel within 1 year¥6,578/month (tax incl.) up to 3GBOfficial site (opens in a new tab)
docomoMAX up to 3GBSign-up Not stated · Support EN · Bills Not statedNot statedNot statedNot stated on the pages we checked¥6,798/month (tax incl.) up to 3GBOfficial site (opens in a new tab)
auSmartphone Mini Plan+ up to 5GBSign-up JP only · Support EN · Bills Not statedNot statedNot statedUp to ¥1,100 (tax incl.) if you cancel within 1 year¥8,228/month (tax incl.) up to 5GBOfficial site (opens in a new tab)
docomoMAX over 3GBSign-up Not stated · Support EN · Bills Not statedNot statedNot statedNot stated on the pages we checked¥8,448/month (tax incl.)Official site (opens in a new tab)

Sorted by: Monthly price, lowest first. Ties: provider name, A to Z.

Read the full comparison

The plans we compare, in numbers

Categories
Mobile & SIM
Plans in our tables
19
English at every step
0 of 19 plans
Japanese-only sign-up
0 of 19 plans
Prices shown
Monthly, tax incl., before discounts
Information from
Official websites, as of Oct 2026

Common questions

Can I sign up with only my residence card?

It depends on the provider. Some let you finish the online application with just your residence card (在留カード). Others also ask for a Japanese bank account or another document. The “Residence card only” column in each table shows what the provider’s official website says.

What if my credit card was issued outside Japan?

Some providers accept cards issued abroad and some do not. See the “Foreign-issued card” column. If a provider does not accept them, you need a Japanese card or another way to pay before you can sign up.

Why do you list plans I can only apply for in Japanese?

So you can see every plan in the table. These plans are marked “Japanese only”, so you know before you visit the official site.

How does this site make money?

Through affiliate links. Links that can earn us a commission are marked “Ad”. See our Affiliate disclosure for details.

How we put the tables together

Every value in our tables comes from the provider’s official website. We do not sign up for the plans ourselves, and we do not give star ratings.

Services you can only sign up for in Japanese are in the tables too, marked “Japanese only”, so you can see the whole picture before you choose.

Read how we compare

  • Official sources only

    Prices and terms come from each provider’s official website.

  • Sign-up conditions first

    English support, residence card, and foreign cards come before price.

  • One fixed order per table

    The rule each table is sorted by is shown right under it.