Mobile & SIM19 plans comparedEnglish sign-up: 1 of 19English bills: 0 of 19Residence card: 2 of 19Japanese only: 0 of 19

Mobile SIM and eSIM plans in Japan compared: English sign-up, residence card and cancellation fees

Published

AdThis page contains affiliate links (ads). Affiliate disclosure

This page compares phone plans that come with a Japanese phone number, from 11 providers. The first columns show whether you can apply: the language of sign-up and support, whether a residence card (在留カード) is enough as ID, and whether a card issued abroad works. Price comes after that. LINEMO and ahamo take applications in Japanese only.

On this page

Picks by situation

  • People who want to sign up in English

    Sakura Mobile

    Sakura Mobile says you can sign up entirely in English. You can also book a free online consultation in English. Its page does not say which language the bills use.

    Official site (opens in a new tab)

  • People who want a Japanese number with a ¥0 base fee

    povo

    povo's base plan is ¥0/month (tax incl.). You buy data in the app only when you need it. The online ID check accepts a residence card. Calls cost ¥22 per 30 seconds (tax incl.).

    Official site (opens in a new tab)

  • People who may leave Japan within a few months

    IIJmio

    IIJmio's minimum term ends on the last day of the month you start. Its English page does not state a cancellation fee (解約金), so ask IIJmio about it before you sign up.

    Official site (opens in a new tab)

  • People who want English phone support from a major carrier

    au

    au's English contract page lists phone support in English, 9:00 to 20:00. The au Online Shop is in Japanese only. At a shop, bring your residence card and your foreign passport.

    Official site (opens in a new tab)

Compare the plans

As of Oct 2026. Prices and terms are taken from each provider’s official website.

Comparison table

ProviderApply in EnglishResidence card onlyForeign-issued cardMinimum contract / cancellation feeMonthly price (tax incl.)Official site
povoCalls+Data base planSign-up Not stated · Support Not stated · Bills Not statedYesNot statedNot stated; 180-day topping rule¥0/month (tax incl.)Official site (opens in a new tab)
IIJmioVoice SIM, starting priceSign-up Not stated · Support EN · Bills Not statedYesNot statedEnds with your first month; fee not stated¥850/month (tax incl.)Official site (opens in a new tab)
LINEMOup to 3GBSign-up JP only · Support JP only · Bills Not statedNot statedNot stated¥990 (tax incl.) if you cancel within 12 months¥990/month (tax incl.) up to 3GBOfficial site (opens in a new tab)
Rakuten MobileSAIKYO Plan up to 3GBSign-up Not stated · Support JP only · Bills Not statedNot statedNot statedNot stated on the pages we checked¥1,078/month (tax incl.) up to 3GBOfficial site (opens in a new tab)
LINEMOup to 10GBSign-up JP only · Support JP only · Bills Not statedNot statedNot stated¥990 (tax incl.) if you cancel within 12 months¥2,090/month (tax incl.) up to 10GBOfficial site (opens in a new tab)
Rakuten MobileSAIKYO Plan up to 20GBSign-up Not stated · Support JP only · Bills Not statedNot statedNot statedNot stated on the pages we checked¥2,178/month (tax incl.) up to 20GBOfficial site (opens in a new tab)
ahamo30GBSign-up JP only · Support Not stated · Bills Not statedNot statedNot statedNot stated on the pages we checked¥2,970/month (tax incl.) for 30GBOfficial site (opens in a new tab)
Rakuten MobileSAIKYO Plan over 20GBSign-up Not stated · Support JP only · Bills Not statedNot statedNot statedNot stated on the pages we checked¥3,278/month (tax incl.)Official site (opens in a new tab)
Sakura MobileVoice+Data 5GBSign-up EN · Support EN · Bills Not statedNot statedNot statedMonth-to-month, no lock-in. Cancellation fee: not stated¥3,278/month (tax incl.) for 5GBOfficial site (opens in a new tab)
Y!mobileSimple 3 SSign-up Not stated · Support Not stated · Bills Not statedNot statedNot stated¥858 (tax incl.) if you cancel within 12 months¥3,278/month (tax incl.) for 5GBOfficial site (opens in a new tab)
UQ mobileTokutoku Plan 2Sign-up Not stated · Support Not stated · Bills Not statedNot statedNot stated¥1,100 (tax incl.) if you cancel within 1 year¥4,048/month (tax incl.) up to 30GBOfficial site (opens in a new tab)
auSmartphone Mini Plan+ up to 1GBSign-up JP only · Support EN · Bills Not statedNot statedNot statedUp to ¥1,100 (tax incl.) if you cancel within 1 year¥4,928/month (tax incl.) up to 1GBOfficial site (opens in a new tab)
SoftBankMini Fit 2 up to 2GBSign-up Not stated · Support Not stated · Bills Not statedNot statedNot statedNot stated on the pages we checked¥5,258/month (tax incl.) up to 2GBOfficial site (opens in a new tab)
docomoMAX up to 1GBSign-up Not stated · Support EN · Bills Not statedNot statedNot statedNot stated on the pages we checked¥5,698/month (tax incl.) up to 1GBOfficial site (opens in a new tab)
SoftBankMini Fit 2 up to 5GBSign-up Not stated · Support Not stated · Bills Not statedNot statedNot statedNot stated on the pages we checked¥6,358/month (tax incl.) up to 5GBOfficial site (opens in a new tab)
auSmartphone Mini Plan+ up to 3GBSign-up JP only · Support EN · Bills Not statedNot statedNot statedUp to ¥1,100 (tax incl.) if you cancel within 1 year¥6,578/month (tax incl.) up to 3GBOfficial site (opens in a new tab)
docomoMAX up to 3GBSign-up Not stated · Support EN · Bills Not statedNot statedNot statedNot stated on the pages we checked¥6,798/month (tax incl.) up to 3GBOfficial site (opens in a new tab)
auSmartphone Mini Plan+ up to 5GBSign-up JP only · Support EN · Bills Not statedNot statedNot statedUp to ¥1,100 (tax incl.) if you cancel within 1 year¥8,228/month (tax incl.) up to 5GBOfficial site (opens in a new tab)
docomoMAX over 3GBSign-up Not stated · Support EN · Bills Not statedNot statedNot statedNot stated on the pages we checked¥8,448/month (tax incl.)Official site (opens in a new tab)

Sorted by: Monthly price, lowest first. Ties: provider name, A to Z.

  • Residence card only

    Online application with just a residence card

    • povo Calls+Data base plan¥0/month (tax incl.)
    • IIJmio Voice SIM, starting price¥850/month (tax incl.)

Sorted by: Monthly price, lowest first. Ties: provider name, A to Z.

Each provider in detail

11 providers

Sorted by: Monthly price, lowest first. Ties: provider name, A to Z.

Affiliate disclosure

povo

Calls+Data base plan

Mobile & SIM

  • Sign-upNot stated
  • SupportNot stated
  • Bills & accountNot stated
Residence card only
Yes
Foreign-issued card
Not stated
Minimum contract
Not stated; 180-day topping rule

Monthly price (tax incl.)

  • ¥0/month

Official site (opens in a new tab)

povo: full terms
Apply in English
  • Sign-upNot stated
  • SupportNot stated
  • Bills / My PageNot stated
povo's website has an English version. The language of sign-up, support and bills is not stated.
Residence card onlyYes. A residence card is one of the IDs accepted for the online ID check.
New residence card (issued from 14 Jun 2026)Not stated on the official site
Foreign-issued cardNot stated. You can pay by credit card, or by Paidy without a credit card.
Minimum contract / cancellation feeNot stated. The line can be stopped after 180 days without a paid topping.
Monthly price (tax incl.)¥0/month (tax incl.)
One-time sign-up feeNot stated for your first 5 lines. A fee applies from the 6th line.

Back to the comparison table

IIJmio

Voice SIM, starting price

Mobile & SIM

  • Sign-upNot stated
  • SupportEnglish
  • Bills & accountNot stated
Residence card only
Yes
Foreign-issued card
Not stated
Minimum contract
Ends with your first month; fee not stated

Monthly price (tax incl.)

  • ¥850/month

Official site (opens in a new tab)

IIJmio: full terms
Apply in English
  • Sign-upNot stated
  • SupportEnglish
  • Bills / My PageNot stated
English support through IIJmio's official X account (@iijmio). Sign-up form and bills: not stated.
Residence card onlyYes. IIJmio lists the residence card as an ID for online sign-up.
New residence card (issued from 14 Jun 2026)Not stated on the official site
Foreign-issued cardNot stated. A credit card in your own name is required.
Minimum contract / cancellation feeMinimum term ends on the last day of your first month. Cancellation fee: not stated.
Monthly price (tax incl.)¥850/month (tax incl.)
One-time sign-up fee¥3,300 (tax incl.), plus a separate SIM issue fee

Back to the comparison table

LINEMO

up to 3GB · up to 10GB

Mobile & SIM

  • Sign-upJapanese only
  • SupportJapanese only
  • Bills & accountNot stated
Residence card only
Not stated
Foreign-issued card
Not stated
Minimum contract
¥990 (tax incl.) if you cancel within 12 months

Monthly price (tax incl.)

  • up to 3GB¥990/month
  • up to 10GB¥2,090/month

Official site (opens in a new tab)

LINEMO: full terms
Apply in English
  • Sign-upJapanese only
  • SupportJapanese only
  • Bills / My PageNot stated
Sign-up and support are in Japanese only. An English guide to the application is available. Bills: not stated.
Residence card onlyDepends on your status: permanent residents show the residence card, plus a resident record if their name or address changed. Special permanent residents use their certificate. Other residents also need a passport.
New residence card (issued from 14 Jun 2026)Not stated on the official site
Foreign-issued cardNot stated. Visa, Mastercard, JCB, American Express and Diners Club credit cards in your name are accepted.
Minimum contract / cancellation fee¥990 (tax incl.) if you cancel within 12 months of the start month
Monthly price (tax incl.)
  • up to 3GB¥990/month (tax incl.) up to 3GB
  • up to 10GB¥2,090/month (tax incl.) up to 10GB
One-time sign-up fee¥3,850 (tax incl.)

Back to the comparison table

Rakuten Mobile

SAIKYO Plan up to 3GB · SAIKYO Plan up to 20GB · SAIKYO Plan over 20GB

Mobile & SIM

  • Sign-upNot stated
  • SupportJapanese only
  • Bills & accountNot stated
Residence card only
Not stated
Foreign-issued card
Not stated
Minimum contract
Not stated on the pages we checked

Monthly price (tax incl.)

  • SAIKYO Plan up to 3GB¥1,078/month
  • SAIKYO Plan up to 20GB¥2,178/month
  • SAIKYO Plan over 20GB¥3,278/month

Official site (opens in a new tab)

Rakuten Mobile: full terms
Apply in English
  • Sign-upNot stated
  • SupportJapanese only
  • Bills / My PageNot stated
English website, translated from Japanese. Phone support is in Japanese only. Sign-up form and bills: not stated.
Residence card onlyNot stated on the pages we checked
New residence card (issued from 14 Jun 2026)Not stated on the official site
Foreign-issued cardNot stated on the pages we checked
Minimum contract / cancellation feeNot stated on the pages we checked
Monthly price (tax incl.)
  • SAIKYO Plan up to 3GB¥1,078/month (tax incl.) up to 3GB
  • SAIKYO Plan up to 20GB¥2,178/month (tax incl.) up to 20GB
  • SAIKYO Plan over 20GB¥3,278/month (tax incl.)
One-time sign-up feeFree for your first 4 lines. From the 5th line: ¥3,850 (tax incl.)

Back to the comparison table

ahamo

30GB

Mobile & SIM

  • Sign-upJapanese only
  • SupportNot stated
  • Bills & accountNot stated
Residence card only
Not stated
Foreign-issued card
Not stated
Minimum contract
Not stated on the pages we checked

Monthly price (tax incl.)

  • ¥2,970/month

Official site (opens in a new tab)

ahamo: full terms
Apply in English
  • Sign-upJapanese only
  • SupportNot stated
  • Bills / My PageNot stated
You apply on the ahamo website in Japanese. docomo suggests your browser's translation feature. Support and bills: not stated.
Residence card onlyNot stated on the pages we checked
New residence card (issued from 14 Jun 2026)Not stated on the official site
Foreign-issued cardNot stated on the pages we checked
Minimum contract / cancellation feeNot stated on the pages we checked
Monthly price (tax incl.)¥2,970/month (tax incl.) for 30GB
One-time sign-up feeNot stated on the pages we checked

Back to the comparison table

Sakura Mobile

Voice+Data 5GB

Mobile & SIM

  • Sign-upEnglish
  • SupportEnglish
  • Bills & accountNot stated
Residence card only
Not stated
Foreign-issued card
Not stated
Minimum contract
Month-to-month, no lock-in. Cancellation fee: not stated

Monthly price (tax incl.)

  • ¥3,278/month

Official site (opens in a new tab)

Sakura Mobile: full terms
Apply in English
  • Sign-upEnglish
  • SupportEnglish
  • Bills / My PageNot stated
Sign-up is in English. You can also book a free online consultation in English. Bills: not stated.
Residence card onlyDepends on your address: the card must show your current address. Without a registered Japanese address, show a passport at pickup.
New residence card (issued from 14 Jun 2026)Not stated on the official site
Foreign-issued cardNot stated on the pages we checked
Minimum contract / cancellation feeMonth-to-month, no lock-in. Cancellation fee: not stated
Monthly price (tax incl.)¥3,278/month (tax incl.) for 5GB
One-time sign-up fee¥5,500 (tax incl.) activation fee

Back to the comparison table

Y!mobile

Simple 3 S

Mobile & SIM

  • Sign-upNot stated
  • SupportNot stated
  • Bills & accountNot stated
Residence card only
Not stated
Foreign-issued card
Not stated
Minimum contract
¥858 (tax incl.) if you cancel within 12 months

Monthly price (tax incl.)

  • ¥3,278/month

Official site (opens in a new tab)

Y!mobile: full terms
Apply in English
  • Sign-upNot stated
  • SupportNot stated
  • Bills / My PageNot stated
The plan page has a language menu with English. Sign-up, support and bills: not stated.
Residence card onlyNot stated on the page we checked
New residence card (issued from 14 Jun 2026)Not stated on the official site
Foreign-issued cardNot stated on the page we checked
Minimum contract / cancellation fee¥858 (tax incl.) if you cancel within 12 months of the start month
Monthly price (tax incl.)¥3,278/month (tax incl.) for 5GB
One-time sign-up fee¥3,850 (tax incl.) online, ¥4,950 (tax incl.) in shops

Back to the comparison table

UQ mobile

Tokutoku Plan 2

Mobile & SIM

  • Sign-upNot stated
  • SupportNot stated
  • Bills & accountNot stated
Residence card only
Not stated
Foreign-issued card
Not stated
Minimum contract
¥1,100 (tax incl.) if you cancel within 1 year

Monthly price (tax incl.)

  • ¥4,048/month

Official site (opens in a new tab)

UQ mobile: full terms
Apply in English
  • Sign-upNot stated
  • SupportNot stated
  • Bills / My PageNot stated
The plan page links to an English section. Sign-up, support and bills: not stated.
Residence card onlyNot stated on the page we checked
New residence card (issued from 14 Jun 2026)Not stated on the official site
Foreign-issued cardNot stated on the page we checked
Minimum contract / cancellation fee¥1,100 (tax incl.) if you cancel within 1 year of a new contract
Monthly price (tax incl.)¥4,048/month (tax incl.) up to 30GB
One-time sign-up feeNot stated on the page we checked

Back to the comparison table

au

Smartphone Mini Plan+ up to 1GB · Smartphone Mini Plan+ up to 3GB · Smartphone Mini Plan+ up to 5GB

Mobile & SIM

  • Sign-upJapanese only
  • SupportEnglish
  • Bills & accountNot stated
Residence card only
Not stated
Foreign-issued card
Not stated
Minimum contract
Up to ¥1,100 (tax incl.) if you cancel within 1 year

Monthly price (tax incl.)

  • Smartphone Mini Plan+ up to 1GB¥4,928/month
  • Smartphone Mini Plan+ up to 3GB¥6,578/month
  • Smartphone Mini Plan+ up to 5GB¥8,228/month

Official site (opens in a new tab)

au: full terms
Apply in English
  • Sign-upJapanese only
  • SupportEnglish
  • Bills / My PageNot stated
Phone support in English and 7 other languages, 9:00–20:00. The au Online Shop is in Japanese only. Bills: not stated.
Residence card onlyDepends on how you apply: at a shop, a residence card plus a foreign passport. The online ID list is in Japanese only.
New residence card (issued from 14 Jun 2026)Not stated on the official site
Foreign-issued cardNot stated. The au Online Shop accepts credit cards only.
Minimum contract / cancellation feeUp to ¥1,100 (tax incl.) if you cancel within 1 year of a new contract
Monthly price (tax incl.)
  • Smartphone Mini Plan+ up to 1GB¥4,928/month (tax incl.) up to 1GB
  • Smartphone Mini Plan+ up to 3GB¥6,578/month (tax incl.) up to 3GB
  • Smartphone Mini Plan+ up to 5GB¥8,228/month (tax incl.) up to 5GB
One-time sign-up fee¥3,850 (tax incl.) online

Back to the comparison table

SoftBank

Mini Fit 2 up to 2GB · Mini Fit 2 up to 5GB

Mobile & SIM

  • Sign-upNot stated
  • SupportNot stated
  • Bills & accountNot stated
Residence card only
Not stated
Foreign-issued card
Not stated
Minimum contract
Not stated on the pages we checked

Monthly price (tax incl.)

  • Mini Fit 2 up to 2GB¥5,258/month
  • Mini Fit 2 up to 5GB¥6,358/month

Official site (opens in a new tab)

SoftBank: full terms
Apply in English
  • Sign-upNot stated
  • SupportNot stated
  • Bills / My PageNot stated
SoftBank has English pages, such as its ID document list. Sign-up, support and bills: not stated.
Residence card onlyDepends on your status: SoftBank lists a residence card plus a passport. Special permanent residents use their certificate.
New residence card (issued from 14 Jun 2026)Not stated on the official site
Foreign-issued cardNot stated on the pages we checked
Minimum contract / cancellation feeNot stated on the pages we checked
Monthly price (tax incl.)
  • Mini Fit 2 up to 2GB¥5,258/month (tax incl.) up to 2GB
  • Mini Fit 2 up to 5GB¥6,358/month (tax incl.) up to 5GB
One-time sign-up feeNot stated on the pages we checked

Back to the comparison table

docomo

MAX up to 1GB · MAX up to 3GB · MAX over 3GB

Mobile & SIM

  • Sign-upNot stated
  • SupportEnglish
  • Bills & accountNot stated
Residence card only
Not stated
Foreign-issued card
Not stated
Minimum contract
Not stated on the pages we checked

Monthly price (tax incl.)

  • MAX up to 1GB¥5,698/month
  • MAX up to 3GB¥6,798/month
  • MAX over 3GB¥8,448/month

Official site (opens in a new tab)

docomo: full terms
Apply in English
  • Sign-upNot stated
  • SupportEnglish
  • Bills / My PageNot stated
Phone support in English, Portuguese, Chinese and Spanish, 9 a.m. to 8 p.m. Plan pages are in Japanese only. Sign-up and bills: not stated.
Residence card onlyNot stated on the pages we checked
New residence card (issued from 14 Jun 2026)Not stated on the official site
Foreign-issued cardNot stated on the pages we checked
Minimum contract / cancellation feeNot stated on the pages we checked
Monthly price (tax incl.)
  • MAX up to 1GB¥5,698/month (tax incl.) up to 1GB
  • MAX up to 3GB¥6,798/month (tax incl.) up to 3GB
  • MAX over 3GB¥8,448/month (tax incl.)
One-time sign-up feeNot stated on the pages we checked

Back to the comparison table

About this comparison

Plans compared
19
Providers
11
English at every step
0 of 19 plans
Japanese-only sign-up
0 of 19 plans
Prices shown
Monthly, tax incl., before discounts
Information from
Each provider’s official website

Which plans are in the table

For each provider, the table shows plans from the price page we checked. We left out plans for children or for a first smartphone, plans that work only as an extra line, and plans that stop taking new sign-ups soon. Some plans change price with the data you use in a month. For those plans, each step has its own row. All prices are regular prices before discounts, with tax included.

  • Plans left out: docomo's U15 plan (for children), SoftBank's Smartphone Debut Plan+ (for a first smartphone), Y!mobile's Share Plan (extra line only) and docomo mini. docomo mini stops taking new sign-ups on Nov 30, 2026, and docomo starts docomo mini2 on Dec 1, 2026.
  • povo's base plan costs ¥0 a month (tax incl.) and has no full-speed data. You buy data in the povo app as add-ons called "toppings". Without a topping, the speed is up to 128 kbps.
  • IIJmio's English page lists ¥850 a month (tax incl.) as the starting price of its voice SIM. The page does not give the data amount for that price.
  • Rakuten Mobile's SAIKYO Plan has one price for any use over 20GB. Rakuten says the speed may be restricted at busy times.
  • docomo MAX also has one price for any use over 3GB. docomo says the speed may be restricted during heavy use.
  • Some providers have larger plans that are not in this table. Examples are Sakura Mobile's plans up to 100GB, LINEMO's 30GB plan, and Y!mobile's Simple 3 M (30GB) and Simple 3 L (35GB).
  • docomo's Japanese plan page says ahamo will change its plan and monthly price on Dec 1, 2026. The table shows the price before that change.

Residence card (在留カード): when you need more than the card

povo and IIJmio list the residence card as an ID you can use for online sign-up. LINEMO, au and SoftBank ask for more papers in some cases, based on your status, your address, or how you apply.

  • povo: the online ID check accepts a residence card, a driver's license, or a My Number card (マイナンバーカード).
  • IIJmio: you upload one ID, such as a residence card. You also need a contact address and phone number in Japan, an email address, and a credit card in your name.
  • Sakura Mobile: for online sign-up, use a residence card or My Number card that shows your current address. If you moved, update the address at your city office first. If you have no registered address in Japan, show your passport when you pick up the SIM at an airport counter or the Shinjuku office.
  • LINEMO: permanent residents use the residence card. Other residents need the residence card and the photo page of their passport. Special permanent residents use the special permanent resident certificate (特別永住者証明書). If your name or address has changed, also upload a resident record (住民票) or a utility receipt from the last 3 months. Only permanent residents and special permanent residents can choose an eSIM.
  • LINEMO also asks for a Japanese phone number where it can reach you, and an address in Japan that can receive mail.
  • au: at au shops, bring your residence card and your foreign passport. If your address is only on the back of the card, bring one more document that shows it. If fewer than 90 days remain in your period of stay, you must pay the monthly charges by credit card in your name. The ID list for the au Online Shop is on a page in Japanese only.
  • SoftBank: the English ID page lists a residence card plus a passport. Special permanent residents use their certificate. If your current address is different from the one on your ID, you need another document.
  • Rakuten Mobile, ahamo, docomo, UQ mobile and Y!mobile: the pages we checked do not list the ID rules.

English help: where it stops

The language can change from one step to the next, for example from an English website to a sign-up form in Japanese. Here is what each provider's pages say.

  • Sakura Mobile: sign-up is in English. You can also book a free online consultation in English.
  • IIJmio: English support is available through IIJmio's official X account (@iijmio). IIJmio's terms are in Japanese only.
  • au: phone support is in English and 7 other languages, 9:00 to 20:00. The au Online Shop is in Japanese only.
  • docomo: the phone line takes calls in English, Portuguese, Chinese and Spanish, 9 a.m. to 8 p.m. Call 15770 from a docomo phone, or 0120-005-250 from other phones. docomo's plan pages are in Japanese only.
  • Rakuten Mobile: the website has an English version, translated from Japanese. If the two versions differ, the Japanese text applies. Phone support is in Japanese only.
  • LINEMO: sign-up and support are in Japanese only. LINEMO has an English guide to the application. If there is a problem during sign-up, LINEMO may call you, and the call is in Japanese.
  • ahamo: you apply on the ahamo website, which is in Japanese. docomo suggests using your browser's translation feature. English guides to the plan are available as PDF files.
  • povo, SoftBank, UQ mobile and Y!mobile: their websites have English pages or a language menu. The pages we checked do not say which language sign-up, support or bills use.

Fees when you join and when you leave

You pay a sign-up fee once. Some plans also charge a cancellation fee if you leave within a set period. If you may leave Japan within a year, look at both fees as well as the monthly price.

  • povo: the pages we checked do not state a cancellation fee. If you buy no paid topping for 180 days, povo can stop your line, with some exceptions. If you still buy nothing for 30 more days, the contract ends.
  • IIJmio: sign-up costs ¥3,300 (tax incl.), plus a separate SIM issue fee. The minimum term ends on the last day of the month you start. The English page does not state a cancellation fee. Your credit card may be billed for up to two months after you cancel.
  • LINEMO: sign-up costs ¥3,850 (tax incl.). If you cancel within 12 months of the start month, the fee is ¥990 (tax incl.) for the 3GB/10GB plan and ¥1,100 (tax incl.) for the 30GB plan.
  • Rakuten Mobile: sign-up is free for your first 4 lines in total. This count includes cancelled lines since Apr 8, 2020. From the 5th line, sign-up costs ¥3,850 (tax incl.) per line. The pages we checked do not state a cancellation fee.
  • Sakura Mobile: the activation fee is ¥5,500 (tax incl.). Plans are month-to-month with no lock-in. The page does not state a cancellation fee.
  • Y!mobile: sign-up costs ¥3,850 (tax incl.) online and ¥4,950 (tax incl.) in shops. If you cancel within 12 months of the start month, the fee is ¥858 (tax incl.) for Simple 3 S or M, and ¥1,100 (tax incl.) for Simple 3 L.
  • UQ mobile: if you cancel a new line within 1 year, the fee is ¥1,100 (tax incl.). The page does not state the sign-up fee.
  • au: sign-up costs ¥3,850 (tax incl.) online. Ask at the shop for the fee if you sign up there. If you cancel a new line within 1 year, the fee is up to ¥1,100 (tax incl.). If your monthly price after ongoing discounts is under ¥1,100, the fee is the same as that monthly price.
  • ahamo, docomo and SoftBank: the pages we checked do not state the sign-up fee or a cancellation fee.

Call charges for the plans in the table

Call charges are set plan by plan. Here is what each plan's page says.

  • povo base plan: domestic calls cost ¥22 per 30 seconds (tax incl.). Some calls, such as calls to satellite phones, are charged at different rates. Sending an SMS costs ¥3.3 (tax incl.).
  • IIJmio voice SIM: call charges are not in the monthly price. The English page does not give the rate.
  • LINEMO 3GB/10GB plan: domestic calls cost ¥22 per 30 seconds (tax incl.). Some numbers, such as those starting with 0570, have other rates.
  • Rakuten Mobile SAIKYO Plan: domestic calls are free with the Rakuten Link app. Calls to numbers starting with 0180 or 0570, and to some special numbers such as 188, are not free. With your phone's own call app, calls cost ¥22 per 30 seconds (tax incl.).
  • Sakura Mobile: calls and SMS are not in the monthly price. Domestic calls cost 16.5 JPY per 30 seconds. The page does not say if tax is included.
  • Y!mobile Simple 3 S: domestic calls cost ¥22 per 30 seconds (tax incl.). Some calls, such as calls to 0570 numbers, are not covered by this rate.
  • UQ mobile Tokutoku Plan 2: domestic calls cost ¥22 per 30 seconds (tax incl.). Some calls, such as calls to satellite phones, are charged at different rates.
  • au Smartphone Mini Plan+: domestic calls cost ¥22 per 30 seconds (tax incl.). Some calls, such as calls to satellite phones, are charged at different rates.
  • SoftBank Mini Fit 2: domestic calls cost ¥22 per 30 seconds (tax incl.). Some calls, such as calls to 0570 numbers, are not covered by this rate.
  • docomo MAX: domestic calls cost ¥22 per 30 seconds (tax incl.).
  • ahamo: the pages we checked do not give call charges.

About the author

Eigo OK editorial team

Run by First CH LLC (opens in a new tab)

About us

We compare Japanese mobile and internet plans for people who live in Japan or have just moved here.

All Mobile & SIM comparisons

How we put the tables together

Every value in our tables comes from the provider’s official website. We do not sign up for the plans ourselves, and we do not give star ratings.

Services you can only sign up for in Japanese are in the tables too, marked “Japanese only”, so you can see the whole picture before you choose.

Read how we compare

  • Official sources only

    Prices and terms come from each provider’s official website.

  • Sign-up conditions first

    English support, residence card, and foreign cards come before price.

  • One fixed order per table

    The rule each table is sorted by is shown right under it.